Language Proficiency Levels

Different language proficiency levels are used worldwide in order to standardize foreign language learning, teaching, and assessment.

  • ILR (USA)
  • CEFR (Europe)
  • TORFL (Russia)

U.S. Federal Government Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR)

 The Interagency Language Roundtable is a Federal interagency organization established for the coordination and sharing of information about language-related activities at the Federal level. It serves as the premier way for departments and agencies of the Federal government to keep abreast of the progress and implementation of techniques and technology for language learning, language use, language testing and other language related activities.

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Proficiency Guidelines

The ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines were developed as an adaptation for the academic community of the U.S. Government’s Interagency Language Roundtable (ILR) Skill Level Descriptions.

The ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines are a description of what individuals can do with language in terms of speaking, writing, listening, and reading in real-world situations in a spontaneous and non-rehearsed context. For each skill, these guidelines identify five major levels of proficiency: Distinguished, Superior, Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice. The major levels Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice are subdivided into High, Mid, and Low sublevels.

Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment (CEFR)

CEFR is designed to provide a transparent, coherent and comprehensive basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses and curriculum guidelines, the design of teaching and learning materials, and the assessment of foreign language proficiency. It is used in Europe but also in other continents.

Test of Russian as a Foreign Language (TORFL/ТРКИ)

The Test of Russian as a Foreign Language (TORFL, or in Russian: Тест по русскому языку как иностранному, ТРКИ) is a contemporary test of Russian language for foreign citizens compliant with the best European quality standards.

Levels of the TORFL are matched to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment (CEFR).